RSS

When was the last time you were..

06 Aug

.. addressed as the opposite gender?

I recently being addressed as dude. Cool eh? It was kind of funny actually. I don’t know why, but in a virtual life, people tend to easily mistaken me as a dude. D.U.D.E!

Okay, let’s define dude.

Urban Dictionary: A word that Americans use to address each other. Particularly stoners, surfers and skaters.

Wikipedia: A dude is an individual, typically male. The female equivalent, which is used less often, is “dudette” or “dudess”. However, “dude” has evolved to become more unisex to encompass all genders,and this was true even in the 1950s.

Oxford Dictionary: A man. A dandy.

So whatever meaning they defined, I still feel awkward when people addressed me dude. This happened sometimes around last week. I was starting doing online sales for my pre-loved books a week ago. There was this buyer asking me about a certain book. So we were texting to each other without hinting our gender. Until this text was send to me, “Dude, tomorrow you message me about that book.”

I was like, dude? What was he thinking I am? A man? HA HA HA.

When he confirmed to buy the book, I text him my account number and my name as well. When he saw it, all of a sudden he changed into, “Miss, what bank?”

Oh man, now you switched to miss. Why didn’t you just stick to dude? Dude is cool. Miss isn’t! Miss is like a very formal address. I don’t like Miss. I like dude better than miss.

He did really think I was a man, otherwise he wouldn’t changed to miss.

I remember when I was starting doing blog, many bloggers assumed I was a guy. Was it because of my name or what? Well, I don’t know and I don’t want to find out.

I am a cool dudette.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 06/08/2012 in Categorized

 

Want to say something?

 
