RSS

The Associate

03 Nov

My 3 days off of Hari Raya Aidiladha was spent on reading The Associate by John Grisham.

Run, Kyle! Run!

The Associate was about Kyle McAvoy, a final year law student who has been blackmailed by some unknown party to be a spy in a big law firm, which at the time the firm was representing a giant company in a billion lawsuit. He must deliver to the unknown party the documents about the case, otherwise the dark secret from college that he kept would be used against him.

I found out that The Associate was a so-so work compared to The Runaway Jury, The Pelican Brief and The Rainmaker. A flat storyline. I have been waiting for any suspense element, but couldn’t find one. Even though I felt kind of disappointed, but I still enjoy this book.

Later when I was browsing television channel, something caught my eyes. John Grisham’s The Rainmaker. Wow! Something that could put my hunger of suspense at ease. Absolutely! Unfortunately it won’t start until 1 a.m. and the repetition would be only at 8 a.m. the next day! Oh gosh. Even though I am a big fan of The Rainmaker, but I don’t think I could be able to skip work or go to work with half asleep. So I just passed. I said to myself, well don’t worry, there would always be a next repetition.

So the next day, I asked my colleague to download the movie, and only today I have the time to watch it. Maybe because I already read the book, in fact, been re-reading it more than once, I couldn’t help but comparing those two. I really disappointed with the movie. Really.

While for A Time To Kill, I enjoy the film more than I enjoy the book. Maybe because I already watch the movie, then only I read the book.

When a story was brought into film, why can’t they produced the exact storyline, the exact plot and the exact everything from a book. Why must they changed even a bit of them?

Why???

I plan to re-read The Rainmaker again tonight in order to get rid of a disappointment in my heart. So the next time I stumble on the repetition of The Rainmaker movie, I guess I just pass it on. I couldn’t bear any sadness anymore. Ugh!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 03/11/2012 in Categorized

 

Want to say something?

 
