RSS

I am a murderer.

27 Mar

Well, that what my sister called me.

Before I went to work, I asked my sister to water my plant. While I was at work, she text me.

My sister: “Why there is a soapy water inside the watering can? Did you cleaning the plants with that?”

I: “I used it to water the pandan plants.”

My sister: “Why didn’t you just use a bleach? You are a murderer!”

I: “Until that plants is withered or die, then you may call me a murderer.  Otherwise, just stand aside, wait and see.”

My sister: “If you used the detergent to cleanse the plants, then what did you used to do a laundry? A fertilizer?”

I: “No. I used a washing machine to do a laundry!”

daia2

A phosphate source.

Why am I using a soapy water to water my plant? Well, as far as I’m concerned, detergent contains a phosphate, an ester of phosphoric acid. A phosphate contains a phosphorus, which is vital to plant growth and is found in every living plant cell. It is involved in several key plant functions, including energy transfer, photosynthesis, transformation of sugars and starches, nutrient movement within the plant and transfer of genetic characteristics from one generation to the next.

But too much of something is bad. That’s why my garden teacher told me to water my plant with a soapy water just once in a while.

Just call this my experiment with phosphate in plants. That is why I used it on my almost dying pandan plants. If it were a success, then I had a good luck and will prolong the plants lifetime. Otherwise just considered them as my trial-and-error in becoming a gardener.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 27/03/2013 in Categorized

 

Want to say something?

 
